New Funk Romance


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $5 USD  or more




Taking cues from ESG, The Slits, Delta 5, and 99 Records, Los Angeles' WEAVE! picked up the torch where their riot grrl post funk/punk foremothers left off and transformed into something much more than homage with their reputation of colorfully chaotic, yet often spellbinding live performances, channeling dub, afro-pop, and a heavy DIY punk aesthetic.

Formed in 2007 by Ivory Lee Carlson (Softness) and Nicole Turley (Swahili Blonde) WEAVE! quickly expanded into a 4-piece quickly becoming one of LA's favorite live acts, with members of Bubonic Plague and the Centimeters rounding out the groups sound. The band released their first s/t EP in 2008 on Pacific Reasons (now on Neurotic Yell) to much acclaim. After a European tour and several line-up changes, WEAVE! took a brief hiatus to focus on their other projects. But the band has reemerged with a new EP of propulsive dubby-post-punk, New Funk Romance.

New Funk Romance manages to capture the bands energetic live essence with angular raw grooves dancing around lo-fi vocals and incantations, while also hinting at some new directions. The opener "Calypso" is a trippy slice of tropical pop, and sends the message lound and clear that this EP is full of surprises. "Don't Yvonne" and "G Is For Gangsta" tread on grimey jittery funk with synthesizers cutting into the mix, adding to the spookiness. Bass is central to "Man He Can" and "Forsaken" while their hooks reach up towards anthemic heights. "H (heart) H" explores a dreamier sound, but it's rhythmic backbone still embodies that signature staccato sense of urgency.

New Funk Romance is a very welcome return. We should all feel honored to have WEAVE! back.


released July 24, 2012

All songs written by Ivory Lee Carlson + Nicole Turley

Performed by...
Alex Black - keys, percussion, backing vocals
Ivory Lee Carlson - bass, keys, vocals
Bryan Lasley - guitar, backing vocals
Nicole Turley - drums, guitar, keys, vocals

Drums recorded by Phillip Haut
Vocals recorded by Phillip Haut + Nicole Turley
All other instruments recorded by Nicole Turley

Songs 1-5 were recorded in 2009
Song 6 in 2009 + 2012

Mixed, Produced, and Mastered by Nicole Turley

Album Art by Nicole Turley



all rights reserved


Neurotic Yell Records Los Angeles, California

contact / help

Contact Neurotic Yell Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code